Just another WordPress.com site

Oh Just Shut Up

If tonight’s Phillies game was any indication, I’m going to have to start watching baseball games on mute. I don’t think I can take any more PED wankery and I’m sure the Ryan Braun shit is just the tip of the iceberg.

For the record: I don’t care if a player uses PEDs (be they HGH or Adderall). I don’t think that pumping one’s body full of steroids is a good idea, but if a player is willing to do that to his body it doesn’t bother me.

What bothers me about all the Biogenesis shit is the large number of baseball writers gleefully calling Braun names (’cause that’s a mature thing to do) and demanding everything short of his head on a platter while willfully ignoring the incredibly shady things MLB did to get its “evidence.” MLB looks more and more like the bad guy to me in this situation.

The number of writers demanding apologies from Braun would be hilarious if it weren’t so stupid. Why exactly should Braun apologize to the guy who failed to follow specimen collection protocols? Braun didn’t “get off on a technicality” in 2011; he “got off” because a collector was bad at his job. You wouldn’t want that collector handling your urine sample either. The other big call is for Braun to apologize to fans. What would he be apologizing for, though? For providing them with entertainment? For giving them something to think about other than how much the world sucks? Ryan Braun does not owe the fans an apology.

I take that back. Ryan Braun owes me an apology for going along with this bullshit. (I will always think that this is bullshit.) Although this piece provides a decent rationale for why Braun may have decided to make this “plea bargain.” I still don’t understand how Braun can be suspended without a failed test, though. And I really don’t understand how the MLBPA can go along with this bullshit. Deadspin seems to share my confusion.

This is only going to get worse, isn’t it? Even if, as Deadspin points out, MLB’s refusal to let the steroid “issue” die implies that steroids are still a huge problem in the sport even though they aren’t. And even if steroids were a problem in baseball, most people couldn’t care less.

I am really not looking forward to hearing more incoherent rambling from Sarge on this issue, but it’s not going away. So, yeah, I think I’ll be watching Phillies games on mute for a while.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

