Thing #5: Flickr

Today’s (final) thing is Flickr. Not being a big photography buff, I had never used Flickr before. I was impressed with how easy it was to set up an account and start uploading photos. I also appreciated that Flickr didn’t require me to create a brand new user name and password, I could simply log in using my Google account information.

I had taken pictures of my two birthday cakes with my iPhone and decided to upload those pictures to Flickr, mostly so I could write a blog post about the crazy Neapolitan cake I made myself and include a picture. I ran into trouble when I tried to embed the picture from Flickr. I couldn’t seem to find a URL that the WordPress image uploader was happy with. This may have had something to do with the fact that it was almost 1:00 in the morning. I had no trouble uploading the image directly to WordPress from my hard drive, though, so I did that so I could finish the post and go to bed. About 30 minutes ago I tried the blogging feature in Flickr, and that was fairly easy as well. I was able to blog a picture of the ice cream cake I had with my parents and aunt on Sunday. Neither one of these experiences is exactly what I am looking for, however. I’m sure that, as I gain more blogging experience, I’ll become a pro at including pictures.

Leave a Reply

