Taking Back Sunday (part deux)

The show last night was incredible! It was the most fun I’ve had at a show in ages (even with the high douchebag quotient). Like I said on Twitter last night (yes, the show was so good it inspired me to finally tweet), it was the best show I’ve ever been to, hands down. And I didn’t want that to be true. I wanted that honor to remain with Brand New. But I had to be honest that the amazingly high-energy show TBS put on last night trumps the almost religious experience that is a Brand New show. The crowd was amped and, more importantly, so was the band. The guys were clearly having fun and their happiness made me even more happy. After reading the oral history of TBS in June’s Alternative Press, I’m glad that the band is once again made up of five dudes who genuinely like each other and get along.

Not that the whole experience was sunshine and roses. The Ritz Ybor is no longer my favorite venue in town after the clusterfuck that was getting in. Doors opened at 6, first band went on at 6:30, and I didn’t present my ticket until 8. Yes, 8:00, two hours after doors opened! Now, I didn’t leave my house until 6:30. I had will call tickets (a clusterfuck that was not actually the Ritz’s fault) and I didn’t really care about seeing either of the first two bands, so I figured I’d take my time getting ready and by the time I got to the venue there’d be no line. How wrong I was. I got to the venue a little before 7 and there were several hundred people waiting in the will call line. I finally got my ticket and headed into the venue, but wait, there was another line! The process of going from bag check to ID check to ticket presentation is very methodical, but holy shit did it take forever! By the time I got a drink at the bar it was past 8 and the second band’s set was ending. So thank you, Ritz Ybor, for ruining the phenomenal impression I had of you after the first show I attended. You should be proud.

The two cheeseburger meal I got at McDonald’s on my way home probably wasn’t the best idea ever, but I really wanted it at the time. Although it may be the reason that I kept waking up in the middle of the night and why I overslept by a lot this morning, so I may keep that in mind next time. I really can’t get going this morning, which is a very big problem since I really should be working on a big paper that’s due tomorrow. But I had to get these words out of my head first.

Thank you Adam, John, Shaun, Mark, and Eddie! Come back to Tampa soon!

Leave a Reply

