Lazy Saturday

This was a seriously lazy day for me. Highlighted by the fact that I didn’t get out of bed until 1:05. There was some kind of magic that woke me up just in time for the Phillies game. But, wait, that got rained out. (Boo!) Imagine my disappointment at getting out of bed specifically to watch the Phils only to have MLB TV tell me that the game was postponed. I was able to resist the urge to go back to bed by checking Twitter and being confronted with hundreds of tweets about Hurricane Irene. How could I possibly sleep with everything that was going on at home?

When the forecasts started indicating that Irene might be a threat to the Northeast, I thought it was terribly ironic. After all, I’m in Florida, I should be the one worrying about hurricanes and flooding, not all of my family and friends in the land of Wawa and TastyKakes. As the week went on, and John Bolaris’s tweets got more and more ALL CAPS SERIOUS, I started to see how big of an issue Irene could be. After the things I saw reported on Twitter today (tornadoes! water UNDER the Wildwood Boardwalk!!), I’m just praying that everyone stays safe.

Lost in all the crazy weather was the fact that the Phillies’ It Gets Better video was finally released. (Seriously, I saw no mention of it on either of the official Twitter accounts or the homepage. So thanks to the half-dozen or so fans that I saw tweet the link.) It’s a phenomenal video and I’m so glad the organization decided to take part in the It Gets Better project. It makes me proud to be a fan of this team. Special shout out to the players featured: Roy Halladay, Chase Utley, Hunter Pence, John Mayberry, Jr., and Mike Stutes.

By 7:00 I was getting antsy for some baseball, so I decided to put the Royals/Indians game on. I chose that game because I was interested in seeing Jim Thome back in an Indians uniform (though I would’ve much preferred to see him back in red pinstripes, but that’s another post). There was something really relaxing about watching a baseball game that I had no vested interest in. I may have to do that more often. Like tomorrow, since there won’t be a Phils game. (Boo!) Although I may have to watch a non-Indians game since I am currently feeling very bitter and conflicted towards the Indians (see above re: Thome not being in red pinstripes).

Leave a Reply

