On New Year’s Day

Oh great, now I’ve got that U2 song stuck in my head (I hate U2).  I should’ve thought this through more.  Ah well, it still seems like the most apropos title.

I’ve never been much of one for New Year’s Resolutions.  Like everyone else, I have problems getting them to stick.  But this year, I have four that I feel pretty good about.

  1. Take better care of myself.  Intentionally vague because it encompasses a lot.  I’m pretty sure conventional wisdom says that resolutions should be specific if they are to stick, but I like this plan because it gives me wiggle-room.  If I slack in one department, I can still give myself credit for being good in other areas.
  2. Read every day.  And I mean reading; skimming Twitter doesn’t count.  My goal is to read a non-school book every day (in addition to my school reading, obviously).  It doesn’t matter what kind of book, just as long as I am actually reading.  I’m not setting any kind of read-a-book-a-week goals, I just want to read.  It would be nice to make a dent in my To Be Read pile.
  3. Blog every day.  This might be the hardest resolution to stick through.  But if I work to make blogging a part of my routine, I think I should be okay.
  4. Work on my house.  As my mom reminded me earlier, I want to put my house on the market this year.  The first step in that direction will be getting my stuff organized.

So those are my New Year’s Resolutions.  Perhaps I’ll post updates regarding my progress.

I have made good progress on my Buffy the Vampire Slayer watching project.  I’m over halfway through season 5.  In fact, I just watched the one episode I was dreading, “The Body.”  I wasn’t dreading it because it’s a bad episode, but because it is so damn good.  I remembered that, when it aired, it made me feel like I’d lost a loved one, and I felt the same way this time.  Most of my go-to TV episodes that make me bawl my eyes out have a big, shocking, gut-wrenching loss at the end, not at the beginning.  (Yes, I have go-to TV episodes to watch when I want to bawl my eyes out.  It’s not weird.  Said episodes are from Angel and Doctor Who, the Ninth and Tenth Doctors.)

In happier Buffy news, the award for most surprising guest star goes to Amy Adams, who played Tara’s cousin Beth in the season 5 episode “Family.”  Also, I’m pretty sure that I will be able to watch the entire series before the Spring Semester starts.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

