Some Thoughts On A Tuesday

I had planned a different post for today, but I will just file it away for later.  Instead, here are some of the thoughts bouncing around my head today.

First and foremost, this site will go dark tomorrow as part of the SOPA Blackout.  As such, I am giving myself permission to miss a day of blogging (protecting the internet is more important than my new year’s resolutions).  I will use some of the time I would have spent blogging to contact my legislators and let them know that I oppose SOPA & PIPA.  I hope you will do the same.  I also want to take a second and thank the WordPress.com staff for making it super easy to take part in this protest.

In a completely unrelated note, textbooks written in broken English are bad.  However, I’m pretty sure that the book in question was just edited by a non-native English speaker, so I’m hopeful that the rest of the chapters will be in proper English.  And it’s not like it was so bad as to be unintelligible, but it was just enough to mess with my concentration.  It’s funny how something as small as “tenth of millions” instead of “tens of millions” can be so disruptive.  I have no idea how I managed to work my way through the entire 50-page introductory chapter.

That’s not entirely true.  Halfway through the chapter I took an Internet break.  One of the things I did at the time was watch Lana Del Rey’s SNL performance of “Video Games.”  It was terrible.  I actually like the song “Video Games,” but the thing I took away from her performance is that she can’t actually sing.  Plus, I’m pretty sure someone on Twitter described her as wearing a “Jessica Rabbit dress” and I have to agree with that assessment.  And I was disappointed that she didn’t have a live harpist (is that weird?).

Until (the day after) tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

