One Month And Counting

Until pitchers and catchers report to Spring Training.  This is incredibly exciting to me.

As it happens, yesterday marked one month before pitchers and catchers report.  Every time I looked at Facebook or Twitter yesterday I was reminded of that fact.  And I’m really not complaining ’cause, like I said, I’m super excited.  But I am bummed that I chose not to blog about it yesterday so I could write the post about the Wayback Machine that I had wanted to write on Tuesday.  (Stupid SOPA and PIPA, screwing with my blogging plans.)

Anyways, the best part of this news is that it means we’re getting closer to baseball!  Sometimes I wondered if it was ever really going to come back (especially since the Eagles aren’t in the postseason this year).  I know some Phillies players are already in Clearwater, but knowing that Spring Training officially starts soon makes it somehow more real.

One of the best things about living in the Tampa Bay area is the proximity to Clearwater (or “Clearwooder,” as it was/is pronounced by most of the people I grew up with).  Sure, Clearwater Beach is awesome, but that’s not why I’m so fond of it.  No, Clearwater is important because it houses Bright House Field, Spring Training home of the Phillies (and home of the high-A Clearwater Threshers).

The Phils have had Spring Training in Clearwater my entire life (since 1948, apparently), so I’ve always been aware of the town, but I had no real idea of where it was in Florida.  I certainly never expected to live anywhere near Clearwater.  It is pretty awesome that attending a Phillies Spring Training game only requires a relatively short car ride for me (as opposed to the flights or really long car rides required by people making the pilgrimage from the Delaware Valley).  But I would give it up in a second to be able to attend Phillies games at Citizens Bank Park with little travel and expense.  Besides, my parents aren’t planning on moving anytime soon, I could always crash with them and save some money on hotels.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

