Huh

I missed Friday night’s Fringe because I was watching the Chuck finale.  Since I just got rid of my DVR, this could’ve posed a problem.  But no worries.  New episodes of Fringe are available to watch online in their entirety at FOX’s Website.

Or so I thought.  It turns out, new episodes of Fringe are locked for eight days before you can watch them online.  (Unless you have Dish Network, or something.  I don’t know.  I was too busy being distracted by the big lock symbol to really read the “helpful” information provided.)

What the hell is up with that?  Penalizing the consumer?  For, what, being busy on a Friday night?  This is complete crap.  It’s just another example of the entertainment industry establishment reacting in ridiculous ways to a present and future it doesn’t understand.  The Internet is a part of daily life now.  You can’t put the genie back in the bottle.  The entertainment industry needs to adapt in positive ways if it wants to survive.  If you continue to make it overly difficult for people to consume your content online in legal ways, you can’t help but expect them to turn to piracy.  (For the record, I am against piracy.  I haven’t pirated a thing since the advent of the iTunes Store.  And even when I did use Napster, I always said that if I had the ability to buy single songs for 99 cents, I would.)

So, FOX, thanks for punishing me.  And, y’know, yourselves.  Because I’m now forced to watch each episode online since it will be impossible for me to catch up before the next new episode airs (a funny consequence of locking episodes for a week and a day).  And I’ve already given up Glee.  And I’ve been thinking about giving up New Girl and Raising Hope for a while and this is kinda nudging me in the “give them up” direction.  Hell, I’d give up Fringe if I didn’t have such a special place in my heart for niche sci-fi shows (especially when they star my favorite actor from Dawson’s Creek).

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

