Month In Review: January

I thought it might be fun to check in with my New Years Resolutions and see how I’m doing.  At the very least, it might help me feel accountable for sticking to them.

  1. Take better care of myself.  If I’m being honest, I haven’t kept this at all.  I was going to give myself partial credit, but when I read how I actually worded this, I get straight zeroes.  The key word here is “better.”  I’ve been taking exactly the same care of myself as always.
  2. Read every day.  Good, I pass this with flying colors.  I read three books this month. And, perhaps most importantly, there was only one day when I completely forgot about reading, but my book was sitting out on my bed, so I got a chapter in before I went to sleep.
  3. Blog every day.  I had anticipated that this would be the hardest resolution to keep.  Oh me of little faith.  This one has been easy.  For proof look no further than my blog archive and the 30 entries in January 2012.  I was slightly concerned that giving myself the day off for the SOPA/PIPA blackout would work against me, but I got right back in the habit of blogging.
  4. Work on my house.  I haven’t worked on this every day, but I have made some progress around the house.  I know I could do better, but some is better than nothing.

Clearly, I need to continue the good work with reading and blogging and concentrate more on myself and my house.  I’m feeling pretty good about reading and blogging.  They say that it takes 21 days for a new habit to stick, and if that’s true, then I have two new “sticky” habits.  This makes me feel like concentrating on the areas where I need improvement won’t derail me.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

