Ditching My DVR

Last month I wrote about the experience of trying to get rid of my cable TV service.  In the end I kept the cable but got rid of the DVR.  At the time I was only thinking of it as a way to save money, but in the days since I realized that getting rid of my DVR was just another way of simplifying my life.

I have been a big fan of DVRs since I got my first one.  They’re so convenient.  Two of my favorite TV shows are scheduled at the same time?  No problem.  I can just watch one and record the other.  Going out of town for a week?  Set my DVR.  The Phillies game starts at 7:05?  Record my 8:00 show and watch it after the game.  You get the idea.

But DVRs are kind of dangerous, too.  I started recording every episode of Regis’ last season on Regis and Kelly and then watching the episodes while I ate lunch.  By November I realized that I was wasting a lot of time that way.  It would only take 10 minutes for me to make and eat a sandwich, but I spent an extra 40 or so minutes watching the show.

The thing I will miss the most about my DVR is The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson.  I love Ferguson’s show.  I started recording every episode two years ago and I even got my parents and my aunt to start watching it.  Every Monday – Friday morning I would eat breakfast and watch the previous night’s show.  Unlike Regis and Kelly, this never felt like a waste of time, but it really was.

So you see, getting rid of my DVR has freed up nearly two hours in my day.  That’s nothing to sneeze at.  Plus, I’ve started removing shows from my personal “must see TV” list.  Mostly shows that I didn’t really like that much but kept watching out of habit.  When baseball season comes along I know I’ll have to take another hard look at my TV watching habits.  And I’m pretty okay with that.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

