List Of Happy Things

I’m too tired to come up with anything to write about at length, so I present to you a list of things that made me happy today.

  1. Fastnachts – Super awesome delicious donuts are headed my way!  Well, my aunt sent them to my parents, but my mom promised to save me some.  For those that don’t know, fastnachts are a German, pre-Lent food.  My favorite part about being part Pennsylvania Dutch (in the Deutsch/German way, not the Amish way) is the fabulous food I grew up eating and fastnachts definitely fit that category.  I think this will be the first time I’ve had fastnachts since moving to Florida.  They’re kind of hard to find in stores down here, not that I’ve ever had a store-bought fastnacht that was anywhere near as good as the homemade ones from my family.
  2. John Bolaris – He outdid himself today.  The (as far as I can tell) still unemployed Bolaris got tired of just tweeting weather forecasts for the Delaware Valley and tweeted a forecast for Clearwater (see the green tweet in the below picture).  I found that far funnier than it should’ve been and felt compelled to take the below screen cap of my iPhone.
  3. Pitchers and Catchers – Or, as ZooWithRoy likes to say, Aces and Chooches.  There’s nothing inherently exciting about pitchers and catchers reporting for Spring Training.  But it is a tangible piece of evidence that baseball is coming back and to that I say, “hallelujah!”
  4. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – I finally watched Deathly Hallows Part I and will watch Part II just as soon as Netflix gets it to me.  I don’t know why I turned into such a slacker where Potter movies are concerned (I didn’t see Half-Blood Prince in the theater either).  And I’m still not convinced that they had to turn the book into two movies (although Deathly Hallows gets a pass when compared to Breaking Dawn, a 750-page novel in which nothing ever really happens, being turned into two movies), but I enjoyed the first part.

I could’ve sworn there were five things in my head, but I can’t seem to come up with the fifth one.  Oh well.

Until tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “List Of Happy Things

Leave a Reply

