Month In Review: February

Let’s jump right into it because there’s something else I’d rather talk about 😉

  1. Take better care of myself.  Unlike last month, this month I can categorically say that I did take better care of myself.  Did I do everything that I lumped into this rather vague resolution every day?  No, but overall I did a better job than I normally do.  For example, I ate much healthier than normal (except for last weekend) and I exercised more days than I didn’t (which is huge for me).  Major props, Kristin, keep it up.
  2. Read every day.  I didn’t have any room for improvement with this resolution, which is fine.  The important thing was to continue the good work from January, which I did.  I read three books this month and, unlike last month, I didn’t have to read two books concurrently to accomplish that.  Fabulous job, Kristin.
  3. Blog every day.  Again, this wasn’t about getting better in February as much as it was about keeping up the momentum from January.  Although, technically I did improve in February because I blogged every single day this month.  I know, I gave myself the Internet Blackout off, but I also really love gold stars.  Excellent work, Kristin.
  4. Work on my house.  This also showed improvement month over month.  (Oh God, I sound like I’m writing a KRI [Key Risk Indicator] report or something.)  I haven’t really done anything big (except maybe cleaning out my closet), but I have been doing little things here and there.  I got rid of two bankers’ boxes worth of junk mail at a shredding event on Saturday.  And I’ve been inspired to organize the loose papers sitting around my office the past two days.  There’s still a lot to do, but my mom is always telling me that I just have to do a little bit every day, so I’m trusting her on that.  Keep it up, Kristin.

No, I don’t really know why I started talking to myself at the end of each bullet point either. But you get the idea, I can give myself gold stars across the board for February, but there is still room for improvement in March (and beyond).  All in all, though, I’m feeling pretty good about things.

Of course, that good feeling may largely be due to the “something else I’d rather talk about.” Namely, baseball (natch).  I listened to a live baseball game today!  And the Phillies were playing and everything!  It was pretty glorious.  The only way it would’ve been better was if it had been televised.  Alas, it was not, but at least the FSU broadcast was carried online (which is not a thing that happens with MLB broadcasts, in fact, I’m pretty sure those can’t legally be streamed online).  The Phillies won, but that wasn’t even the point.  Baseball!

In other awesome baseball news, the MLB At Bat app finally came out today.  I was counting down the days.  (I know an app seems like a weird thing to impatiently await, but it is one of the best apps ever.)  And the best part is, the app is free this year.  And I get the awesome, game-streaming version of it for free because of my MLB.TV subscription.  I had no idea that At Bat would be free until a week ago; I was saving a $15 iTunes gift card specifically for it.  Now I have a $15 iTunes gift card to spend on something fun.  Hooray!

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

