We Were Children In The Mid-90’s

Or were we?  More to the point, was I?

I was running errands this afternoon when I heard the song “We Were Children” by Tribes for the first time.  The chorus contains the line “These things happen, we were children in the mid-90’s.”  The song’s pretty catchy and I picked up on that line, so the second time the chorus came around I found myself singing along.  And then I started trying to decide if that line applied to me or not (as one does – or is that just me?).

Was I a child in the mid-90’s?  First I suppose you have to define “mid-90’s.”  But I think I was a teenager  pretty much regardless of how one defines the term.  Which technically means I was a child, right?  I was a minor.  But do people really consider teenagers children?  Sure, teenagers are the children of their parents, but that has nothing to do with age.  My brother and I are still our parents’ children and neither of us has been a minor in over a decade (yikes).

And therein lies the real issue.  My brain is way too concerned with how old I am and how old other things and/or people are and how old I should feel as a result of how old thing/person X is or how long ago something happened.  For example, when the 20th anniversary of Nirvana’s Nevermind rolled around last year, it made me feel old.  I went to South Africa 16 years ago, I feel old.  You get the idea.

This fixation can’t really be healthy.  I should try to train my brain to stop concentrating on how long ago something happened.  The longer ago high school gets, the better, right?  It means I’m still here and that’s a good thing.  Yeah, I should think of it that way.

Yep, this is the way my brain works.  Some random line in a song triggers obsessive thoughts about age.  Good times.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

