How Did I Not Know About This?

F’reals, how did I not know that they were making a movie of Stephenie Meyer’s The Host?  I love that book!  I read all of the Twilight novels and enjoyed them, but still have no qualms about talking crap on them.  They’re enjoyable stories (if you ignore the fact that nothing ever really happens), but really terrible books.  But The Host is a completely different animal.  I’ve read it three or four times (most recently, two months ago).

But somehow I completely missed the news that there was a film adaptation in the works.  Until I saw this article from Entertainment Weekly today.  How badass is that teaser?  I’m not sure how I feel about any of the casting, though.  But that might be because I don’t think I’ve ever seen the guys who are playing Ian and Jared in anything before (obviously Ian and Jared are the most important characters, especially Ian since I have a huge crush on him – it’s not weird).  I also don’t know how I feel about Saoirse Ronan as Wanda/Mel.  I think she’s a good actress, but right now I can only think of her as young Briony Tallis (a/k/a the one who ruined everything) in Atonement.  I do like Diane Kruger as the Seeker and William Hurt as Uncle Jeb, though.

Okay, I just checked Stephenie Meyer’s Website for the first time in years to get her take on Saoirse Ronan as Wanda/Mel (she’s thrilled, thrilled, thrilled).  But I also got distracted by the news (to me) that she’s involved in the movie adaptation of Austenland.  I loved that book as well!  And it stares Keri Russell and JJ Feild (love, love, LOVE him as Henry Tilney in the recent adaptation of Northanger Abbey)!  Okay, Austenland has officially jumped to the top of my to be read pile as soon as I finish the biography of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert that I’m currently reading.  Or maybe I’ll get impatient and start reading them concurrently.  Yeah, there’s a very good chance of that.

Thank God for the Internet and all of this lovely movie news it gave me today.  Without it this post might have been me whinging about Amazon using LaserShip instead of UPS to send me The Hunger Games box set I just ordered.  The UPS guy always delivered stuff by noon, but LaserShip didn’t get the package to me until 7 PM.  (I know it’s a first world problem.  But I was annoyed.)  Or I might’ve gone over the emotional roller coaster that was tonight’s episode of Supernatural.  Yay, it’s Cas 🙂  But he doesn’t know he’s Cas 😦  And now he knows he’s Cas, but he won’t get to help Sam and Dean fight the Leviathans 😦 😦  I miss Cas.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

