Looking Ahead

God, I cannot wait for this semester to be over.

And not least because I’m going home with my parents for about a week as soon as the semester ends.  Said trip home will include a family shindig (and I never see my mom’s side of the family, so yay!) and a visit to the Van Gogh exhibit at the Art Museum (my brother and sister-in-law are the best!).

But the real reason I’m counting down the days until this semester ends is that I hate one of my classes.  Hate isn’t even a strong enough word.  I hate, loathe, despise, and abominate this class.  And the real bitch of it is that it’s required for the degree.  Which I don’t even understand because it’s a class on conducting social science research.  I don’t know, maybe every masters-level program requires a course on research methods.  But librarianship is such a practice-oriented profession.  (As evidenced by the fact that we are using a sociology textbook in the class because there just aren’t textbooks on conducting library science research.)  I highly doubt anyone in my class plans to become a researcher.  If this were a doctoral-level program, I would understand the inclusion of a research methods class, but as it is I just don’t get it.

And speaking of the textbook, I hate that too.  Like, I want it to die in a fire (literally – I literally want to burn it to ash).  But it was super expensive, so I’ll have to settle for selling it back to Amazon.  The author of the book seems to have gone out of his way to be a buzzkill. And sometimes he’s almost snarky (and I normally appreciate snark, but he’s a douche about it).  But the worst sin, to me, is that as far as I can tell he’s a native English speaker, and yet the book is full of stupid little grammatical errors.  (Occasionally of the misconstrues the meaning variety.)  How am I supposed to take anything he says seriously when he writes “Informal and quantitative methods, the peculiarities of the individual tend to go  unnoticed” when he means “In formal and quantitative methods, the peculiarities of the individual tend to go unnoticed.”  And don’t tell me that it’s the typesetter’s fault.  If I were a sociology professor writing a textbook for a big academic publisher, you can bet I’d make damn sure that shit like that didn’t happen.  Besides, most of the other errors I’ve noticed are not because of missing spaces; this just happened to be the one I read this afternoon.

Plus, even though I find the author’s voice super annoying and arrogant, the book is dead boring.  I was almost falling asleep in my chair this afternoon, but I told myself that if I powered through and finished the chapter I could take a half hour nap.  Which turned into a 2.5 hour nap (and I blame the book for that, too).

This is all very weird for me.  I’ve never had such a violent reaction to a class before.  I’ve had professors I didn’t like, but I wasn’t so absolutely opposed to the subject of the course or the reading material.  But the semester is almost over, at which point I will never have to think about social research ever again.  And thank God for it.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

