Tampa Does Have Advantages

I tend to focus on the negative aspects of living here (’cause I’m human and that’s what we do). But it doesn’t all suck. Today, for instance, I went to the beach.

I’ve always loved the beach. Hell, I’ve always loved water and the ocean. I’ve called myself a “water baby” for as long as I can remember. And I’m a Cancer, which is actually a water sign. One reason summer is my favorite season is that summer always meant a trip down the shore when I was growing up.

And yet, I almost never go to the beach even though I live in the Tampa Bay area. But today I went to Clearwater Beach with my parents and my aunt. For them, the trip was mostly about getting lunch at the Palm Pavilion. But for me, the best part of the trip was spending nearly an hour in the water and listening to Jack’s Mannequin’s Everything In Transit on my iPod while drying off. (I named Everything In Transit my official beach record years ago.)

The trip wasn’t all sweetness and light, though. I got a super awesome sunburn on the upper half of my body (yay). But whatever, it was much more good than bad and I am glad I went to the beach today.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

