Mother Nature Has A West Coast Bias

Don’t mind me, I’m just over here not enjoying the “ring of fire” solar eclipse. And it’s not because I wouldn’t enjoy checking out a solar eclipse. Nope, it’s because the sun set before it would’ve been visible here. Grr arrgh. The east coast always seems to miss solar eclipses. It’s such a bummer. There was a solar eclipse in the middle of the day when I was in elementary school. I don’t really remember it, though. I remember making a viewer out of a cardboard box (or something like that) and I remember constant warnings not to look directly at the eclipse, but I don’t remember the eclipse itself. Isn’t that always the way?

Honestly, this whole weekend has kinda sucked. The Phillies lost the second two games of the series to the Red Sox (it’s hard to win when you keep stranding men on base, guys). I overslept a lot (I mean a lot) and it threw the whole day off. (But not so much that I didn’t take several hours each day to watch a baseball game. Priorities, right?) I didn’t get as much school work done as I would’ve liked. And don’t even get me started on the fact that I couldn’t see either of Brand New’s shows. Really, this weekend was full of disappointments.

Thank God for the last episode of Sherlock. It was sooo good. And it made me cry (in a good way). (Yes, there’s a good way and a bad way that art can make me cry. Stuff that makes me cry in a good way I adore; stuff that makes me cry in a bad way I detest.) I don’t know if Steven Moffat, Mark Gatiss, and company are planning on making another bunch of episodes, but I really, really hope they are. At the very least, though, they allowed me to end this weekend on a high note. So thanks for that, fellas.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

