I’m An Idiot

But not for the reasons you might think if you read yesterday’s post. I’m actually feeling really proud of myself because I accomplished three of the four goals I set for myself today and these were the things I had been actively avoiding. Of course, the day didn’t have the most auspicious beginning. I managed to find something else to do on my computer (there’s an Excel file that just had to be updated). And somehow updating the spreadsheet took all the time between breakfast and lunch/the Phillies game. (In fairness to me, I hadn’t expected it to take anywhere near that long, but it did.) So I didn’t really start working until after the Phils won (yay!), but I didn’t have anything else to do for the rest of the day either.

Here’s where I’m an idiot. It turns out that the assignments I had been stressing out over weren’t worth the stress. One of the assignments is only worth five points and is being graded pass/fail – no sweat. The other assignment, the one I was really freaking out over, is a million times easier than I thought it was. I nearly laughed out loud when I read the actual assignment and realized how dumb I had been. See, that’s the thing, I read the “name” of the assignment, made an assumption about what it was, and freaked out based on my assumption. Avoidance mode kicked in and I never bothered to read the damn assignment.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m stoked that the assignment doesn’t entail what I thought it would. But I’m also mad at myself because all of this stress could’ve been avoided if I had just read the freaking assignment.

Oh, and if you’re wondering, there’s no way in hell I will tell you what the assignment actually is or what I thought it was 🙂 That would involve explaining why I found my assumption so stressful in the first place (most people would not be thrown into a panic by it). And that is a neurosis I would much rather keep to myself, thankyouverymuch.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

