The Internet Is The Best

Because things like this exist.

Neutral Bling Hotel: an album of mash-ups of Neutral Milk Hotel’s fabulous In the Aeroplane Over the Sea and hip-hop songs. It’s pretty much amazing. I haven’t listened to the whole thing yet, but I really like what I’ve heard so far (even with the sacrilege that is mashing up “Oh Comely,” which is one of my favorite songs, with “Teach Me How to Dougie”). Some of the highlights (thus far) are tracks 2 and 9, which combine “The King of Carrot Flowers, Pts. 2 & 3” with “Jesus Walks” (track 2) and “Ghost” with “Forgot About Dre” (track 9). Actually, track 9 kinda made me sad because I used to know all the words to “Forgot About Dre” and I seem to have forgotten a lot of them in the years since college.

I am, however, feeling pretty awesome about the fact that I’m not particularly late to this Internet party. I’m normally the last to find out about things like this. But this only went up on Bandcamp on Thursday, so that is categorically impossible. Hooray!

I think I’ll be listening to these songs for a while, but in the meantime I’ll watch this video of Jesse Lacey covering “Oh Comely” to get the bad “Teach Me How to Dougie” taste out of my mouth.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

