Okay, Brain

So I just checked my secondary email account for the first time in a week. Amid all of the commercial emails that are little more than spam (no, Crate & Barrel, I have no intention of buying anything else from you) I had the weekly new release email from iTunes. I was scrolling through it to see if there was anything interesting and my attention was caught by the new Alan Jackson record.

Now, I don’t know if I’ve ever discussed my feelings on country music here, but I am anti. I can count on one hand the number of country songs I legitimately like (it is greater than zero). As much as I dislike country music in general, I really hate the country music that’s been released in my lifetime. I associate it with hicks and I associate hicks with the craphole little town where I grew up and that is just nothing but bad. Frankly, it’s a miracle that I like any country songs at all.

All of that being said, you should be wondering why the hell I noticed, much less paid attention to, the new Alan Jackson record. Well, it was the title that did it. As soon as I read the title, Thirty Miles West, I had my all-time favorite song (Brand New’s “Play Crack the Sky”) in my head.

Watch this live performance of “Play Crack the Sky” from New Year’s Eve and see if you can figure out why the phrase “thirty miles west” immediately put it in my head.

Thanks, brain, for being awesome and putting “Play Crack the Sky” in my head because of a country record of all things. You and I have kind of a love-hate relationship and God knows I complain about you on my blog a lot, so it’s only fair that I give you a shout-out when you’re nice. You’re not always out to get me, sometimes you even do wonderful things, and that is pretty awesome.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

