Who Would’ve Thought?

So Matchbox Twenty has a new record coming out in September. They just released the first single, “She’s So Mean.” And it’s actually pretty damn good. I’ll be honest, I was not expecting that.

Look, Matchbox Twenty (or matchbox20, as it was styled back in the day) was my favorite band from my senior year of high school through college.  I was obsessed with their first record, Yourself or Someone Like You. I’m fairly certain that they’re the band I’ve seen live the most. But then I turned 25 and started embracing music that was more alt/indie/emo/whatever. And then I discovered Brand New and Matchbox Twenty really didn’t have a snowball’s chance in hell.

Now don’t misread, I’m not saying that I don’t like Matchbox Twenty (regardless of what my dad says). They’re just not really my go-to anymore. I couldn’t even tell you the last time I listened to Yourself or Someone Like You.

So you can imagine how surprised I was when I listened to “She’s So Mean” for the first time and really liked it. In retrospect, I’m not really sure why I was so surprised. I mean, Rob Thomas writes damn good pop rock songs. He always has. It’s what he does. I guess that I was just surprised that I liked it enough to pre-order the record from iTunes. (It’s called North, by the by, which is also the name of my not-favorite Something Corporate record. And yes, the SoCo record was the first thing I thought of when I read the name of the Matchbox record.)

My personal cheerleader, who also happens to be the person I’ve seen most of my Matchbox Twenty concerts with, has already decreed that we will be seeing them when they tour behind this record. And I’m down with that. I’m also hoping that they take Matt Nathanson out with them because I would really love to see him live.

All of this talking about Matchbox Twenty makes me want to watch the video for “Push” because I kind of adore that song (which is kind of remarkable since I thought it was pretty bad the first several times I heard it on Y100). Plus, the “Push” video is less stupid that the “Long Day” video, which is another song I still love from Yourself or Someone Like You.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

