Cookies Accomplished

I actually accomplished something today. This is kind of a big deal for me. And, sure, I got out of bed before 10 AM and did some homework, but that’s not important.

Today’s important accomplishment was baking cookies. And not just any cookies, but super delicious chocolate chip cookies.

They taste even better than they look.

I’m at my parents’ house for Father’s Day weekend and when I got here yesterday my mom asked if I would mind baking some cookies (I make really awesome cookies). Oddly enough, I considered making cookies for my dad a few days ago, but decided against it because I knew that if I made cookies I would end up eating cookies. But when my mom asked I decided there wasn’t as much harm in baking them here.

Now, some might expect that after all this boasting about how delicious my chocolate chip cookies are I would provide the recipe. But it won’t happen. I use a super secret recipe handed down to me by my great-grandmother, Nestle Tollhouse. (That joke works better aloud because I pronounce “Nestle Tollhouse” all French-y and it has been known to confuse people.) I use the recipe on the back of the bag, is what I’m saying. The only difference is that I substitute a cup of old-fashioned oats for a cup of chopped nuts. I don’t generally like nuts in baked goods, it’s a thing.

I’m not entirely sure what it is that makes my chocolate chip cookies so damn good. But there is something. More than one person has told me that my cookies are exceptional; it’s not just some crazy boast that I came up with on my own. I’ve even had people offer to pay me to bake Christmas cookies for them (okay, it was one person, but still).

I’m pretty sure today was the first time I baked anything this year. It was fun, but I probably wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much if I hadn’t been watching Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade at the same time. I’m glad I did it, though, because it made both of my parents happy. And the end product wasn’t so bad either 🙂

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

