Woohoo!

That was awesome!

The Phillies are playing the Rays this weekend. In Philly. (It figures that they’re playing my local team during my birthday weekend, but in Philly.) Unfortunately, I am now at the mercy of the crappy MLB blackouts (since the Rays are playing and they are my local team), which means I have to watch the Rays broadcasts.

I’ve said before that as annoying as the Phillies’ TV broadcasters are, I’d still rather hear them than the other team’s broadcasters. (This is, in fact, why I pay for MLB.tv Premium.) So I wasn’t even sure that I wanted to watch the game. But then Juan Pierre hit his first home run as a Phillie (the 17th of his career), giving the team the lead in the process. That made it easier to watch the Rays broadcast.

Things got a little hairy in the eighth inning and I realized that I actually preferred the Rays broadcast to the Phillies at that moment. Wheels’ negativity is so annoying that I would rather listen to the Rays’ broadcasters being hopeful. Plus, the Phils managed to get out of the inning pretty much unscathed, so that helped.

The ninth inning was a different story. At first, I was still glad that I was watching the Rays broadcast and didn’t have to listen to Wheels. But when Papelbon blew the save the Rays’ announcers became a different kind of annoying. So rather than subject myself to what I assumed was inevitable torture, I decided to just stop watching.

I flipped over to Oxygen because they were showing Pride & Prejudice and I love that movie 🙂 But I hadn’t realized how late it was and was disappointed that Lady Catherine de Bourgh was already at the Bennets’ house. I had hoped to have a lot of Jane Austen goodness in which to drown my sorrows.

During the first commercial break I decided to check Facebook, just to see if there were any updates on the game. And were there ever. Not only had the Phillies won, but Jim Thome walked it off!!!!!

That is just so damn pretty. I’m bummed that I missed seeing it live (on TV), but still. And TMac got legitimately excited on that call, so good for him. Honestly, I’m not even mad that Papelbon blew the save since it gave us that moment. That was the 609th homer of Thome’s career (tying him with Sammy Sosa for 7th place on the home run list). It was his 101st with the Phillies. His fifth of the season. And the 13th walk-off homer of his career (giving him the most in MLB history). Not too shabby for his first pinch hit of the season.

Yep, my cousin got a pretty awesome birthday present from the Phillies. I, on the other hand, got a rained out game for my birthday (to be made up in a day-night doubleheader tomorrow). But that’s okay, because I got pretty awesome birthday presents from people I actually know.

Coolest socks I have ever owned? Yes.

As if all that wasn’t awesome enough, I saw Seeking a Friend for the End of the World this afternoon and it was phenomenal. It made me laugh. It made me cry. Plus I liked seeing Keira Knightley in a movie that wasn’t a period piece. And she and Steve Carell were fantastic.

Now I will end this great day by watching the end of Pretty Woman.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

