Settle Down

Have you heard the new No Doubt single, “Settle Down?”

I dig it. The first time I heard it (which, incidentally, was when I stumbled upon the video on the VEVO app), I wasn’t sure how I felt about it in the beginning. But by about the second chorus, I was into it. It’s closely aligned with my memories of Rock Steady (huge reggae influence, very pop-y). Admittedly, I haven’t listened to Rock Steady in about a decade, with the only exception being “Start the Fire.” (It’s a song about make-up sex with Gavin Rossdale, of course I’m going to listen to it every once in a while.)

When I first heard that there was going to be new No Doubt, I was kind of surprised. Like, they were in the studio, how did I not know about this? And then I remembered that I saw them live three years ago, at which point they were supposed to be working on new music. Whoops. I haven’t been following the news of them closely enough to know the story behind the three-year delay in releasing new tunes, but I assume the writer’s block that plagued Gwen with her solo stuff was at least partially responsible.

It’s weird to me to think that No Doubt hasn’t put out a record in over a decade. Yet phrasing it that way is less upsetting to me than saying that Rock Steady is over ten years old. The second way makes me feel old, but the first one doesn’t for some weird reason.

I’m pretty excited for a new No Doubt record (out September 25th). I absolutely loved them when I was in high school and college. (Although I still think Tragic Kingdom was their best record, so I probably won’t like Push and Shove as much as Tragic Kingdom.) I even saw them live twice, but I still regret that my personal cheerleader and I didn’t see them in Pittsburgh during the spring semester of our senior year.

Wow, it’s later than I thought. And I have to paint my nails in preparation for my trek home tomorrow 🙂

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

