Lazy Sunday

Even though I slept in this morning, I still managed to find time to read the last 100 pages of Pride & Prejudice, thus ending my 2+ month re-read of Austen. It was pretty glorious. So much so, in fact, that I’m not completely getting away from Jane just yet. The next book I’m going to read is All Roads Lead to Austen by Amy Elizabeth Smith. I’ve heard good things about it.

I also watched bits and pieces of my favorite John Wayne movie, McLintock!, which for some unknown reason was playing on the local PBS station this afternoon. I don’t know, maybe they make a habit of playing John Wayne movies on Sunday afternoons, but I never noticed before.

And, of course, I also found time to watch the Phillies beat the Cardinals in exciting, come from behind, extra innings fashion. (Everybody Kratz your hands!) I couldn’t listen to the game, but since the broadcast featured two different groups of Phillies alumni singing, I don’t know that I missed much 😉

I even broke down to watch the Closing Ceremonies. I hoped to see the Spice Girls, but I only caught the tail end of the broadcast so I missed them. Instead, I saw “Queen” and Take That (without Robbie Williams, as far as I could tell). And I would like someone to explain to me why, if they had live footage of Freddie Mercury, they chose to have some dumb pop singer sing instead of creating a Freddie Mercury hologram. Didn’t they see Coachella? We have hologram technology now. A Freddie Mercury hologram would’ve been preferable to Jessie J, in my humble opinion. But once again, the London Olympic committee failed to ask my opinion. And really, it’s my own damn fault for tuning in.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

