Time Spent Well And Not So Well

So, umm, I may or may not have spent the better part of the last 30 minutes watching the Corgi Cam. In my defense, it was literally the first time I watched the Corgi Cam that the puppies weren’t sleeping. And they’re so damn cute. But I digress.

I spent most of today reading the book I mentioned yesterday, All Roads Lead to Austen. I didn’t intend to read a third of it today, but I couldn’t put it down. The author, Amy Elizabeth Smith, got to take a kind of Eat, Pray, Love style year-long sabbatical. But instead of traveling to Italy, India, and Bali(?) to find herself, she travels to Guatemala, Mexico, Ecuador, Chile, Paraguay, and Argentina to learn Spanish, get to know the locals, and (best of all) conduct Jane Austen reading groups with her new friends. The memoir is arranged in chronological order by country and so far she’s read Pride & Prejudice in Guatemala and Sense & Sensibility in Mexico. (She only read one book per country.) Austen has been new to all of the readers and some of their observations have been really interesting, such as the guy who pointed out what a terrible wife Mrs. Ferrars would have been. Austen only presents her as the mother of Edward, Robert, and Fanny and I never considered her in any other light.

If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to read some more before I go to bed. Or more accurately, before I fall asleep (which, judging by last night, will be a while from now).

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

