Something Wicked This Way Comes

So there’s a big, scary, evil thing bearing down on Tampa this weekend. And also a storm named Isaac.

(See what I did there?)

I’m talking, of course, about the Republican National Convention, which is scheduled to start on Monday. Although I’ve seen it reported in quite a few places that Monday is pretty much cancelled on account of Ike. Even before the weather decided to complicate things, I was not looking forward to the Convention. There are already enough people around here that I don’t agree with on damn near anything, I don’t need an influx of more.

(I know that I’ve said that I didn’t want to be political on my blog, but fuck it. Besides, I think I’ve mentioned enough things in the past year that make it fairly clear that the Republican Party and I are pretty much diametrically opposed on pretty much every issue. Plus, I’ve decided that I’m going to be slightly political on Facebook [by liking Obama so FB will stop telling me to like Romney because the morons I went to high school with like him], so why not carry it over to my blog.)

The Convention is one of those things that I would forget about for a while, and then I’d get bummed out when I remembered it again. I was planning to hole up in my house (even more than I usually do) for the next week even before Ike. Traffic is going to be a billion times worse than usual even without flooding and all the other shit that comes with a storm. Plus, there’s the possibility that I might run into a Republican delegate (gasp!). These are both good reasons to embrace my inner hermit (although I may end up being a hermit at my parents’ house depending on how things look tomorrow).

Even though I am more concerned about the influx of Republicans, I realize that Tropical Storm/Hurricane Isaac is nothing to sneeze at. I am apparently under a Tropical Storm Warning for the next 24 hours. Fun.

You know what’s really awesome? I have yet to hear anything from USF about Isaac. Classes are supposed to start on Monday, for crying out loud. One would think that a named storm that could potentially disrupt the start of the semester is something a university would address a lot with students and faculty. But apparently one would be wrong. We did get a very long email earlier this week about the Convention. My favorite part of the email said that we won’t protect you from prosecution if you get arrested while protesting (to paraphrase).

Actually, I haven’t heard much about protesting yet (of course, I don’t watch the local news, either). There was a “threat” of a 40-person protesting “flash mob” at the Rays game, but I don’t know if that happened. (I’m inclined to think that it didn’t since I feel like the myriad baseball people I follow on Twitter would have told me if it had.) And I never really understood why the Rays game would be a target for protests anyway. If Republicans are like Tampa residents, then they couldn’t care less about the Rays and would never go to a game.

Wow, I wrote way more words than I expected to considering how late it was when I started.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

