Sports, Man. Sports.

So tonight I was checking Twitter while watching the Phillies, as I do. The game felt like a loss from the early innings and Twitter was keeping me distracted, which was good. But then I saw a tweet that quoted Oakland A’s trainer Nick Paparesta about injured pitcher Brandon McCarthy. McCarthy, as you may or may not know, was hospitalized after taking a line drive to the side of his head on Wednesday. Paparesta’s quote was “by no stretch of the imagination are we out of the woods.” I can’t even begin to tell you how upset I was when I read that; I mean, I really couldn’t think about anything else for more than a few minutes. I really like Brandon McCarthy; he is far and away my favorite baseball player to follow on Twitter. And even if I didn’t like him, taking a line drive to the head is a scary, scary injury.

But eventually I went back to Twitter; I could only send positive vibes to Brandon and his wife for so long, y’know? And Twitter managed to cheer me up with a much happier sports story.  Brendon Ayanbadejo, a linebacker on the Ravens, supports marriage equality. Bless him for being so vocal about it and shame on the democrat in the Maryland House who has a problem with it. (I keep checking the Huffington Post article, hoping that I read that wrong and that this Burns idiot isn’t a member of my party.) But the absolute best part of the whole story is the open letter that Chris Kluwe, the Vikings punter, wrote to Burns; it’s fantastic. Yay sports!

And then something wonderful happened: the Phillies came back to tie the game. Twitter was less necessary as a distraction, but I kept it open anyway. Then the Phillies walked it off. Woo freakin’ hoo! I shut my Twitter app down. After a little celebratory dancing around my living room, I walked upstairs to start this post and went back to Twitter so I could get the links I used above. I’m glad I did, too, because the official MLB account tweeted a link to this article about Brandon McCarthy. It made me feel much better about him (although I get that things are still very serious). It also included Paparesta’s quote in its entirety, which is far less dire than the part that was tweeted earlier.

Seriously, you guys. Yay sports!

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

