High Hopes

Remember the All-Star Break, when I publicly announced that I had given up hope on the  Phillies’ playoff chances? Yeah, me neither 😉

Seriously, though, I think it’s been fairly obvious that I haven’t been as firmly entrenched in “acceptance” as I thought I was. And lately, of course, I’ve gone way outside the five stages of grief. I’m back in the land of crazy optimism and “why can’t us.” Because y’know what? Fuck it. This team has been hella fun to watch lately. They have a winning record for the first time since June. They’ve won seven games in a row (the longest winning streak they’ve put together all season!). They are three (3!) games back in the Wild Card. They are playing September Phillies baseball and it is a glorious thing to behold.

High hopes, indeed. It’s all happening. Bring on Red October!

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

