Tricentennial

I was going to make a “This is Sparta!” joke, but it’s been a while since I watched 300.

So yep, this is my 300th post. I just spent the past hour and a half reading the last hundred posts. It kinda helped cheer me up after the painful ninth inning of tonight’s Phillies game; I really do amuse myself.

It’s so weird to think that in the last 100 days (or so) I started and stopped a temp job, turned 32, and went home for a few days. I talked a lot about Wawa but never actually went to one. I obsessed over TastyKake pies that were in my Target and then disappeared. I went to Starbucks a lot, especially now that Pumpkin Spice is back. I actually baked cookies. I talked about Brand New, Taking Back Sunday, Bayside, Something Corporate, Jack’s Mannequin, and Jimmy Eat World. I even started a Tumblr and became more active on Twitter.

And then, of course, there were the Phillies. I celebrated Jim Thome home runs and mourned his trade to the Orioles. I complained about FOX’s disrespect for Chooch during the All-Star Game. I gave the season up for dead, but then spent the rest of July not talking about them in a superstitious hope that they’d turn things around. I cheered wins, fretted over losses, and made it generally obvious that I hadn’t really given up at all. September brought high hopes, cruel disappointments, and a crash back to reality. (Oh, and no sweeping of the final home series either. Damn.)

There may have been more themes, but that’s what really stuck out at me. And it’s late and I’m tired, so yeah.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

