Get Out The Vote

If you’re an American citizen 18 years of age or older and you’re registered to vote (or even if you’re not but you live in a state that allows you to register on election day), please vote. It is your right and your duty.

Honestly, I’ve never understood people who don’t vote. I was excited to become a registered voter when I turned 18 and to fully participate in the democratic process. Even the giant clusterfuck that was my first presidential election (2000, natch) didn’t dim my excitement about voting. It is such a huge deal to have a voice in government. Yes, the electoral college seems pretty dumb to me, too. Yes, it can feel like choosing between the lesser of two evils. But we still get a choice, which is fucking huge šŸ™‚

Is it your first time voting? There are so many great Websites with all of the information you could possibly want, such as Election Protection. Also, and I hate to say this, but you may encounter a problem at the polls. Technically speaking, I’ve already experienced voter suppression. One of my Facebook friends of the “moron I went to high school with” variety (jokingly?) informed people who disagree with his political views that the election will be held on Wednesday, November 7. Maybe I should give him the benefit of the doubt, but there have been so many documented cases of Republicans intentionally misinforming voters, particularly minority voters, that I don’t really think I should. The point is, you should be prepared to Video the Vote. Look, I hope that you and I have uneventful trips to the polls, I’m just suggesting that we ought to be prepared.

I’ve made it pretty clear that I’m a Democrat, but I’m not going to tell you who to vote for. It’s a deeply personal decision and we have secret ballots for a reason. But I think that Adam McKay makes a bunch of great points in this Huffington Post piece. Just, think about it.

Seriously though, if you can vote, do it. It’s amazing how great you feel after you exercise your right to do so šŸ™‚

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

