TRL Messed With My Head

Total Request Live (or TRL, as it was eventually named) started my freshman year of college. I didn’t love a lot of the pop stuff that got the most play on TRL, but I watched it pretty religiously for years. Especially when it first started. (The fact that I had a massive crush on Carson Daly definitely played a role in that.)

If you remember the early days of TRL, you know that it was dominated by ‘N Sync, the Backstreet Boys, and Britney Spears. And for some reason I was convinced that most of the guys in those boy bands were years older than me or, in the cases of Justin Timberlake and Nick Carter, years younger than me. I also thought Britney was years younger than me. But here’s the thing, today is Britney’s 31st birthday, Justin is nearly 32, and Nick is actually older than I am.

The weirdest thing, though, isn’t that TRL convinced me that they were all really young when I was in college, but that I remained convinced of that for over a decade. I learned Britney’s age when I saw some tweet this morning about her birthday, but I didn’t believe it at first. It was inconceivable that Britney Spears was only a year and a half younger than me. But, alas, it is true.

The best part of this whole thing is that I will most likely forget what I learned today. When I find out that Justin Timberlake is 32 at the end of January I will probably be shocked. Isn’t my brain fun?

Apropos of nothing, I would be remiss if I didn’t pass along these two YouTube videos I just watched. Kevin Devine tweeted the link to this video of Jesse Lacey joining the Goddamn Band for “Cotton Crush” last night. *swoon*

This video of Andrew McMahon playing “Konstantine” at one of the last ever Jack’s Mannequin shows was literally the only video in the “suggested videos” column the first time I watched the above video. It is scary how well Google and YouTube know me.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

