Days Away

I don’t know about you guys, but I can’t wait for 12/21/12. Because I am sick to death of Mayan Apocalypse jokes.

The world’s not gonna end on Friday, you guys.

One thing has always bothered me about this. (And I’m gonna apologize up front for more or less talking out of my ass on this because I’ve never bothered to investigate the whole stupid thing.) As far as I understand it, some sort of perpetual calendar that the Maya invented stops on 12/21/12. But there’s no actual doomsday prophecy that goes along with the end of the calendar. So where the hell did people get the idea that the end of the calendar is synonymous with the end of the world? I mean, that’s a hell of a logical leap to get from end of calendar to end of world.

I kind of get the gullible types who fall for apocalyptic prophecies with a religious bent. If you believe that the Rapture is a real thing that will actually happen, I can understand falling for some quack who claims to know exactly when it will go down. (Now, if said quack has a history of failed doomsday prophecies, then you get no benefit of the doubt from me.) But this whole Mayan calendar thing is just so damn stupid.

While we’re on the topic of doomsday scenarios, I also don’t get the whole doomsday preppers thing. Why are you stockpiling stuff for the end of the world? The end of the world means the end of the world, right? Everybody will be dead. Including you. So why are you wasting your money?

In Seeking a Friend for the End of the World, Keira Knightley and Steve Carell run into some doomsday preppers and I was kind of distracted during the entire sequence because I just kept thinking how weird it was that these guys were convinced they were going to survive the earth’s destruction. That is some serious hubris.

Okay, I’m pretty impressed that I managed to write so much considering that I had no idea what I wanted to write about today when I logged in to WordPress. Go me.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

