Unexpected Christmas

Have you ever wanted something specific as a gift but, for one reason or another, didn’t ask for it? Perhaps you felt that it would be somehow wasteful to acquire said item or that you didn’t deserve it. And have you then received said item despite the fact that you never asked for it?

It’s a weird feeling, right? That’s where I am with the new iPad Santa gave me for Christmas.

On the one hand, I’m thrilled because I really wanted a new iPad. On the other hand, I’m shocked because I very specifically never asked for one. Sure, I told my parents that my iPad was kind of dying, but I never said I wanted one for Christmas.

My parents spend quite enough money on me as it is and iPads are expensive. Plus, I already had one that worked well enough most of the time. So imagine my shock when the first thing I opened was an iPad. (In fact, I was so shocked that I didn’t even bother to look at the specs, much less open the box. I should maybe take a closer look at that stuff.)

On the whole, I had a lovely Christmas (on Christmas Eve). I got a bunch of books I’d asked for (mostly YA), some souvenirs from my parents’ Mediterranean cruise, and my aunt went crazy with gift cards 🙂

Of course, I just checked Facebook and saw a bunch of pictures from my mom’s family’s annual Christmas Eve gathering. They were lovely, but they made me sad, too. I haven’t gone since 2007 even though I would go every year if I could.

Blah. Now I’m getting all weepy, which was not the plan. I probably just need to go to bed.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

