Year In Review: 2012

Yep, I was able to fit writing another post into my exciting New Year’s Eve plans of not doing anything. Honestly, I’m just stoked that I won’t be subjected to post-stroke Dick Clark doing the countdown to midnight. Does that make me a bad person?

Actually, that’s neither here nor there. The point of this post is to review my progress with respect to my New Year’s Resolutions for 2012. I went through all of my month in review posts and graded each resolution as either “good” or “needs improvement.”

  • Take better care of myself. This received a “needs improvement” grade in every month except February. That being said, I had some good patches and some bad patches. Things weren’t terrible, though: I lost 24 pounds this year. If I can repeat that feat next year, it will be amazing.
  • Read every day. This is the only resolution that received a “good” grade every month. Of course, I went into the year expecting that this would be an easy resolution to keep. The problem was never that I disliked reading; the problem was that I had no time to read. This resolution forced me to make time and the results were incredible: I read 52 different books this year (56 total if you count the four I read twice).
  • Blog every day. This received a “good” grade in every month except July. It’s kind of hilarious to me now that when I made these resolutions I expected this to be the hardest one to keep. But I really didn’t think I would be that comfortable putting myself out there on the Internet. And that’s still an issue for me sometimes, but I don’t really think about it that much. The thing I know for certain, though, is that if it weren’t for this resolution I never would’ve made myself power through those days when I feel weird about blogging. So I’m really grateful for this resolution.
  • Work on my house. This received a “needs improvement” grade in every month except February. (I don’t really remember February, but apparently it was magical.) At this point I really am just celebrating minor victories like the fact that I actually wash my dishes (in the dishwasher) instead of just letting them pile up. I still want to sell my house (and if you read my blog regularly, you know that), but I haven’t acted on that impulse.

All told, then, that’s two “good” and two “needs improvement.” As I noted in one of my month in review posts, it should surprise no one that I was good about the fun resolutions and needed improvement with the resolutions that require me to get off my ass.

So 2012 was kind of an interesting year. I seriously considered dropping out of grad school more than once, but powered through and graduated on schedule. I actually had a job, albeit for a very brief time. I came to hate Hunter Pence with a passion by the time the World Series was over. I got mad about things and sad about things and ecstatic about things. And through it all, I had my blog: a place for me to share whatever randomness was floating around in my head (almost) every day.

Thank you for reading my blog. It amuses me and I hope it amuses you as well. May 2013 be the best year ever for all of us 🙂

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

