How Weird Was That Game

Okay, I’m not what you’d call religious, but damn if Ray Lewis didn’t just put a hymn in my head. Thanks a lot, Ray Lewis.

I ended up rooting for the Ravens because Joe Flacco is from the Delaware Valley and went to the University of Delaware. Plus, I’m more pro-Baltimore than San Francisco. And watching San Francisco win the Super Bowl after winning the World Series would’ve killed me. So yay Ravens!

But the thing that really struck me was the Dodge Ram commercial with the weird religious pro-farmer voiceover. I hated it (if you couldn’t tell). (By the bye, Dodge, if I can’t figure out what you’re advertising in a couple of seconds, it’s a shitty advertisement.) I saw several people on Twitter who were really upset at the way some people responded to the commercial. They seemed to think that it was suburban/urban folks looking down their snobby noses at rural folks. And that may be true in some cases, but not in mine. I grew up in a rural area; a rural area that I loathed, but a rural area just the same. And really, my problem wasn’t with the farmer part of the ad, but with the religious part (and the repetition). Did you know that God made a farmer on the eighth day? I didn’t, but the voiceover said so, like, 10 times so it must be true. Actually, what that ad taught me is that I will never, ever buy a Dodge Ram. And I’m not feeling too keen on Dodge in general after that weirdness. Way to alienate potential customers during the Super Bowl, guys.

Now I have to suffer through an episode of Elementary and, possibly, the local news before the Craig Ferguson Super Bowl special. I’ve been waiting for this for a week so you can bet I’ll be staying up for it.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

