Things Forgotten

I forgot how much I enjoy having my eyebrows waxed. I know that sounds crazy, but it’s true; I enjoy having my eyebrows waxed. I especially enjoy the part where the hot wax is applied to my skin. (Yes, I was one of those kids who played with candle wax. My middle school science teacher, who also happens to be my all-time favorite teacher, had a name for that “disease” but I can’t remember it anymore.)

I started getting my eyebrows threaded a couple of years ago because it was supposed to be less painful and less harmful to the skin than waxing. My experience made both of those claims suspect, but I continued with the threading anyway. But today I decided to go back to waxing (mainly because I found a place near the mall that charges half what the eyebrow threading place charged). And I’m glad I did; it wasn’t particularly painful and it was cheap. Plus I remembered how soothing the parts that don’t involve ripping hair from skin are. Yay!

I also forgot how much I love Community. That’s what happens when you leave it off the schedule for half the season, NBC! I was worried that the new show runners would negatively impact the show, but tonight’s episode dispelled most of those worries. And that Muppet Babies segment was awesome! But now I’m feeling a very strong urge to look through the boxes of toys in my closet to see if I still have my Muppet Babies stuffed animals – I’m pretty sure I had Kermit and Miss Piggy.

Another thing I remembered today is how much I enjoy William Tell’s solo records. I saw him at a really small club in Tampa four years ago and he was fantastic; it’s such a shame that his solo career never took off. And that he wasn’t included in the Something Corporate reunion tour a couple of years ago. At least he made one (rather silly) video in his solo career.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

