Friday List: 500th Post Edition

Unless WordPress is lying to me, this is my 500th post. Holy crap. That is remarkable and I’m not sure I can fully process it. Thankfully I have a regular feature to post today so I don’t have to 🙂

  • I’ve been holding on to this one since Ken Jennings tweeted a link to it on Sunday or Monday. Did you watch Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? It was the best, right? And you know you fantasized about getting to the final round. But feared that you’d have to deal with the Africa map. And this fantastic piece explains just how difficult the Africa map was for the final round. And by all means watch the Rockapella video at the end of the post.
  • I saw a link to this on Twitter during the Phillies game tonight (yay! also, I’m basically only ever on Twitter now during Phillies games); it reminded me of a different part of my 90s adolescence: the opening credits of Arrow in the style of Friends. (Speaking of insanely catchy theme songs from 90s TV shows. And now the Carmen Sandiego and Friends theme songs are fighting it out in my head; I will be the loser of this fight. Fun fact: I have that Rembrandts record with “I’ll Be There For You;” I think I listened to it once all the way through because the rest of it was garbage.)
  • You know how I like cute things. Unfortunately I didn’t see much in the way of cuteness during Phillies games this week. But BuzzFeed came to my rescue with pictures of Chesty XIV, the Marine Corps’ new mascot. (I love bulldogs, man. Love ’em. Also, the second picture might be the cutest damn thing I’ve ever seen.)
  • As I was typing the last bullet point I remembered seeing new pictures of Tom Hardy cuddling a dog. Again, those are magic words.

I don’t know about you, but those four things made me feel a little better about my shitty week. The only thing this week really had going for it (other than Phillies wins) is that I finally tried Starbucks oatmeal and it is ah-may-zing! Why do I make oatmeal for myself when I can just buy it from Starbucks forever? (The best part about this is that I refused to try oatmeal until mid-2008; I just thought it looked gross. It makes me sad to think of how many years I wasted not eating oatmeal.)

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

