Sigh

Another seemingly normal day that ended in tragedy. I can’t take this crap, man.

I found out about the explosions at the Boston Marathon on weather.com of all places. I immediately went to cnn.com to get confirmation, but other than that I have studiously avoided coverage. For one thing, the media knows next to nothing at this point and everything being “reported” is little more than wild speculation. For another, I’m not really down with seeing the same images and videos of horrific real-life violence ad infinitum. (This isn’t a new thing with me; I’ve done my best to avoid images and videos of the Twin Towers collapsing since 9/11/01.)

After finding out that something had, in fact, happened at the Boston Marathon I wondered if baseball games would go on as scheduled tonight. On the one hand, I desperately wanted to watch baseball because it is such a good distraction. (Especially when Ben Revere makes the catch of the damn year.) On the other hand, I’m not so sure that I’d have wanted to attend a baseball game tonight. I’m glad baseball was played tonight, even if it wasn’t a perfect distraction since I was on Twitter for most of the game and my Twitter feed was 40% Phillies and 60% Boston.

A big cosmic hug to everyone in Boston, especially the victims and their families. But even more importantly, a big cosmic hug to everyone I love. We’re guaranteed nothing, so let’s take nothing for granted. Stay safe, everyone.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

