Why Would You Admit To That?

My cousin added her hometown to Facebook today. (I know this because Facebook all but screamed it at me.) I cannot fathom why anyone would choose to do that. Ever.

Don’t misread; I can understand in the abstract why a person would want to add his or her hometown to Facebook. My problem is in understanding why anyone (let alone one of my blood relatives) would want to tell the world that he or she grew up in this particular town. (Admittedly, I’m pretty sure that I have more hatred for the town than the rest of my family put together, but even adjusting for my bias doesn’t change the fact that the town is a shithole.)

And the fact that my cousin added her hometown to Facebook isn’t even the most shocking thing I saw there today. No, that honor goes to the over 2,000 people who liked the shithole town on Facebook. That made me sad and angry and disgusted all at once.

Also, you can like random, crappy towns on Facebook now? What is that about? In a way it does kind of speak to the ubiquity of the Internet, though. Not 20 years ago people were making impassioned speeches at the school board meetings in the shithole town arguing that the district shouldn’t waste money on “newfangled fads and gadgets like computers.” (That is an honest to God thing that a person said in the 1990s.) And now someone put the shithole town on Facebook. (Also, it should be noted that the person was arguing that the district should use grant money it had gotten specifically to buy computers on stuff other than computers. I am not lying when I call the town a shithole.)

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

