Funshine

I woke up and this morning and said, “y’know what, I want to see Kevin Devine & the Goddamn Band, Bad Books, and Chris Carrabba today.” Most days I would’ve just laughed at myself for such a strange flight of fancy, but today was different; today was the second day of the inaugural Funshine Music Festival. (I’m assuming they want to make this an annual thing.)

what I did today
what I did today

I learned about the festival at least a month ago, but I couldn’t decide if I wanted to go or not. On the one hand, I’d never seen Kevin Devine (with or without the Goddamn Band), Bad Books, or Dashboard Confessional live and I’d always wanted to. On the other hand, that’s an absolutely terrible name for a music festival (or anything, really). Plus, it rained a lot this week and I didn’t want to stand outside in the rain for hours. But last night the lure of the three bands was pretty strong and I decided to make a gametime decision. So when I woke up today (it wasn’t actually morning anymore) and saw the sun was shining and then checked the forecast online and saw a 10% chance of precipitation for the day I decided to drive over to the fairgrounds.

I was worried that I’d miss part of Kevin’s set, but I didn’t; by some miracle I parked at the gate that was right next to the stage where he was playing. (In fact, it was the stage where all three of the acts I cared about were playing.) When Kevin Devine & the Goddamn Band opened their set with “Cotton Crush” I knew I’d made the right decision.

So today was a good day. I finally got to see three bands that I like live and all three were phenomenal. I was even right at the barricade for Bad Books and Twin Forks (Chris Carrabba’s new band). I was standing right in front of Andy Hull’s microphone during Bad Books’ set and I kept thinking that I’d never be able to get that close to him at a Manchester Orchestra show, so it was pretty awesome. Plus, Chris Carrabba was a saint for mostly playing Dashboard songs even though he was with his new band (so maybe it’s the people in Twin Forks who are saints).

The only bummer was that none of the bands were selling merch; I’d even brought cash specifically for t-shirts, but it was not to be. Well, I guess the chick who called me “ma’am” just before Bad Books came out was also a bummer, especially since I’d just purchased a beer without getting carded. Why must the universe remind me that I’m old?

But whatever. I saw good bands. I participated in giant singalongs. I spent hours outside without getting completely sunburned (because I put sunscreen on for the first time in forever). Today was a good day.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

