Vices

I forgot to mention this on Friday, but every time I watch the video for “Sweater Weather” I want a cigarette. This is strange because I was never much of a smoker to begin with and I rarely crave cigarettes. I can’t even remember the last time I smoked. It may have been when I went home for T-Bone’s wedding in 2009.

I always characterized myself as a social smoker. I’d tell people that I only smoke when I drink. And those things are true, which makes a random cigarette craving (brought on by a music video, of all things) all the weirder. And now I’m wondering if the cigarette craving had anything to do with the beer I bought at the festival yesterday. I don’t even like beer, but I was watching Kevin Devine & the Goddamn Band play the Corona stage and I wanted a Corona, dammit. I got a Bud Light instead and I actually kind of enjoyed it (which was nice since the thing was 11 bucks). At the very least it was cold and it wasn’t water and it gave me something to do while I waited for Bad Books to play.

This whole thing is very strange. At least I probably won’t buy cigarettes since they’re expensive and I don’t have a lighter. (I used to have an awesome lighter. It featured my astrological sign: cancer.) A smoking habit is the last thing I need.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

