Who Does That?

I just logged in to my Netflix account to add something to my queue. While doing so, I noticed that I had the option to log in with my Facebook account. Who actually does that? Who says, “gee, Netflix, you have absolutely no need for any personal information about me beyond my name, address, and credit card number, but by golly I’m going to give you access to my personal network?” I don’t want to know that person.

I get why companies want access to my Facebook account and whatnot but that doesn’t mean I’m going to give it to them. And the request just feels so icky. Like when I buy something on Amazon and it suggests I share my purchase on Facebook and Twitter. Why would I do that? I won’t give Amazon access to my Facebook account to get a store credit; I’m really not going to give them access to engage in conspicuous consumption.

I am forever thankful that I got a Spotify account before they required Facebook connectivity. And I will have no qualms about ditching Spotify when they decide that they absolutely must have access to my Facebook account in order to function. (And I expect that to happen. I really do.) At least Spotify will have to ask for my Facebook account, thus giving me a chance to opt out.

I wish Instagram had given me that option. But no, after Facebook bought Instagram they decided that it was fine to tell users that their Facebook friends were on Instagram. Maybe I didn’t want my Facebook friends to be able to find me on Instagram. The most annoying part is that I would’ve used a different email address when I set up my Instagram account if I’d known that this would happen. But, of course, I didn’t. And, really, it’s fine that my Facebook friends can find my Instagram account easily; I just wish I’d been given the opportunity to opt out before they started notifying people that “your Facebook friend is on Instagram.”

I guess the moral of the story is that I like to have control over who has access to my social media accounts. And I don’t think that’s a bad thing.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

