I’m So Screwed

My insomnia hit a new low (high?) last night: I didn’t sleep. Not even a little bit. I didn’t even try to sleep until almost 2 AM because I wasn’t tired and I didn’t want to toss and turn for hours. Except that’s what I did. I listened to four episodes of The O.C. in their entirety (and three of them were Oliver episodes, too, and I hate Oliver) and just gave up when I realized it was after 5 AM.

I went downstairs to read, hoping that the combination of reading and the comfy chair would help me sleep, but no such luck. When my alarm went off at 7 I decided I may as well make coffee and have breakfast.

At 9:30 I decided to go back upstairs and try to sleep for two hours. I’m pretty sure I slept for part of that two hours, but it definitely had more than its fair share of tossing and turning as well.

I haven’t tried to sleep since because I really didn’t see any point, but now I have a problem. When I started this post (at 9:30 PM) I was yawning my head off. I wanted to publish this post and go right to bed, but I was afraid of subjecting myself to more insomnia-induced frustration. I really don’t know if I could fall asleep before 10, especially since my neighbors are shooting off a ton of fireworks. And now I’ve stopped yawning, which makes my falling asleep easily even more doubtful. But I’m bored and I know that I really should try to sleep tonight.

Blah, insomnia makes everything complicated.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

