Baseball Heaven

I was so excited when I heard that Vin Scully planned to travel with the Dodgers for the postseason. It’s so awesome to be able to listen to him call tonight’s game on the radio (thanks, MLB At Bat) even though it’s being played in Atlanta. I tried to watch the game on mute, but the TV feed is ahead of the radio feed on my iPad and that got old pretty quickly. The beauty of it is that I really don’t feel like I’m missing anything by not watching the game. Of course, if Puig does something that “disrespects the game” (and I hope he does) I’ll be bummed that I didn’t see it live, but I’ll get to see the highlight online so it isn’t that big of a deal.

Y’know, if Vin Scully really is going to retire after next season, I’ll have to make an effort to watch as many Dodgers home games as possible. I can’t imagine Dodgers baseball without Vin Scully, but I realize that all good things must come to an end. I just hope that Scully’s replacement is better than Harry Kalas’. (Man, I miss the good old days when I couldn’t imagine Phillies baseball without Harry Kalas.)

Whoops, this is getting maudlin; I meant to be celebratory. I’m listening to Vin Scully call a Dodgers game on the road! Hooray!

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

