Random Acts

Today in random acts of kindness: when I pulled up to the window at Starbucks I was told that the person in front of me paid for my Pumpkin Spice Latte. I was so shocked that I could barely speak as the cashier handed me my (free!) cup of deliciousness. It was a nice feeling, though.

Of course, the warm fuzzies didn’t last very long. I felt guilty almost immediately because I’d been thinking mean thoughts about the person in the car in front of me while sitting in the drive thru line. And the weird part is I don’t even know why; I guess I was just cranky. After I pulled away from the drive thru window I felt guilty for not paying it forward. In my defense I was using a Starbucks gift card with a finite amount of money on it and I’m poor (hence the gift card); with my luck the person behind me would have ordered coffee for their entire office. I swear that I will pay it forward someday when I’m not unemployed (for three years) with a mortgage and student loans. I swear.

See, this is my life. Even when something nice happens I find a way to become more depressed than I was before the nice thing happened. Ain’t it grand?

But seriously, thank you BMW driver who paid for my Pumpkin Spice Latte this morning 🙂

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

