Five Years

I asked my parents if they remembered what happened five years ago tonight. Disappointingly, neither of them got anywhere close to the correct answer: the Phillies won the World Series.

I listened to the morning after episode of Preston & Steve at work today. It was quite the trip down memory lane. It made me feel feelings, too, which wasn’t the best plan. (I didn’t really want to be that weird new girl who cries at her desk while listening to her iPod.)

It’s amazing how much of that old Preston & Steve show I remember. But then again, so much of that week between the end of the World Series and Election Day is imprinted on my brain. I know I mentioned this last year, but I still remember so clearly sitting on my couch after Lidge struck Hinske out and thinking, “so this is what this feels like.” (Interestingly, the same thing happened after Obama was elected five years ago.) I remember driving to work the next morning and seeing a plane take off (my first job down here was very close to the airport) and thinking seriously about taking off the next day to fly home for the parade. I didn’t, though, because I was poor (or so I thought at the time), I didn’t actually get days off as a temp (and I’d just come back from a five-day family trip to Disney), and I was going home in two weeks for my cousin’s wedding. (I had a miserable time at that wedding, having gotten shitfaced with my friends in West Chester the night before. Yay for bad decisions!)

And now I have to go to bed.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

