We Used To Be Friends

Today is my best friend from first and second grade’s birthday. I can’t tell you how many times that crossed my mind today.

But here’s the thing: I haven’t seen her in 15 years (and it’s probably longer since I last spoke to her), but I will never, ever forget her birthday. I wish I could, though.

Even though we weren’t best friends for long, we remained good friends all the way through middle school. And then she dropped me like a hot potato when we started high school. (To be fair, pretty much all of my girlfriends from middle school did the same thing, but today is her birthday so my thoughts focus on her.)

Most of the time I try not to dwell on the fucked up thing my supposed friends did to me when we started high school, but every November 3rd I can’t help but do that. And all because of a birthday that is so ingrained in my brain that I don’t need to write it on a calendar to remember it.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

