Be Courteous

I went to Panera for lunch yesterday. And not just any Panera, but one with a drive-thru. Because how could I not go to a Panera with a drive-thru when it’s four miles from my office?

And the story should have ended there: Panera! With a drive-thru! Yay! But no. There was a silver Chevy three cars in front of me that was driven by the most inconsiderate asshole and I feel compelled to talk about it. The Chevy driver clearly bought lunch for her entire department (I’m basing this on how long it took her to order and how large the bags of food she received were), which is a lovely gesture. But go into the fucking restaurant if you’re ordering enough food for a small army.

Drive-thrus are all about convenience and speed, right? So if it’s a busy food-ordering time (like, say, 1 PM) and your order is particularly large you should not use the drive-thru so as not to waste anyone else’s time. I feel the same way about people who order food from a Dunkin’ Donuts drive-thru during the morning rush. And don’t even get me started on people who order a dozen or more doughnuts in the drive-thru. As far as I’m concerned, the Dunkin’ Donuts drive-thru is for coffee and coffee only in the morning. I even abide by that rule; even if I just want a muffin with my coffee I will get out of my car and go into the store.

Maybe it’s weird to have opinions about proper drive-thru etiquette, but I don’t care. Plus, I like etiquette rules; I think practicing proper etiquette shows respect for your fellow humans.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

