Do I Wanna Know?

A few days ago I helped my dad compile a list of the tracking numbers for the various gifts my parents had purchased. Since we’re spending Christmas at my brother and sister-in-law’s house we’re letting Amazon do the heavy lifting and sending things directly to Jersey from Amazon. (Why risk the postal service fucking things up again, right?) However, my parents put my brother’s name on the label, thus making it difficult to determine which boxes they’d ordered and which my parents ordered. Hence the list of tracking numbers.

In the process I caught a glimpse of an Amazon order for things I’d requested. I tried to put it out if my mind, but I can’t. I just can’t forget the two book covers I recognized. (Perhaps it’s my fault for requesting books whose covers I know even though I don’t own them.) It’s hardly the end of the world, but I wish I hadn’t found out; I like the surprise of opening boxes of mystery presents on Christmas. I think it’s the same reason I don’t like spoilers for books, movies, and TV shows. I doubt thinking about it is really helping, but I wanted to get that off my chest.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

